Miltenberger Mansion

History of the Miltenberger Mansion

Home for 3 sons

The widow of Dr. Christian Miltenberger, Marie Miltenberger, built this row of three brick townhouses in 1838 for her three sons: Gustave, Aristides, and Alphonse. Members of the family continued to live there for at least three generations. The intricate delicacy of the lacy cast-iron galleries covering the sidewalks, the slender iron columns supporting the second-story gallery, the narrow frieze of rococo iron leaves set below the floor of the gallery, and the four floor-to-ceiling windows are just a few of the design techniques that make the Miltenberger House unique to the French Quarter.

Birthplace of Royalty

Perhaps the most famous family member was Alice Heine, granddaughter of Marie Miltenberger, who was born here in 1858. The American Civil War sent her family to France. Because of her wealth and beauty, Alice made quite an impression upon Paris society. Alice married her first husband, Marie Odet Armand Aimable Chapelle de Jumilhac, Marquis of Jumilhac, 7th Duke of Richelieu and of Fronsac, on February 27, 1875, in Paris. They had a son and a daughter.

The Prince and Princess of Monaco separated judicially on May 30, 1902 (Monaco) and June 3, 1902 (France), but remained married. Upon the Prince’s death 20 years later, Alice became the Dowager Princess of Monaco. She did not remarry.

Architectural icon

The intricate work of the cast-iron galleries, the frieze of rococo iron leaves set below the floor of the galleries and the floor-to-ceiling windows are a few of the architectural details that make the Miltenberger building beautiful and interesting.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *